Refus contraire

Curators: Doriane Biot, Véronique Hudon, Camille Richard

Artists: Oana Avasilichioaei, Scott Benesiinaabandan, Karina Champoux, Sarah Chouinard-Poirier, Daria Colonna, Cool Cunts, Pascale Drevillon, Sophie Dubois, toino dumas, Ray Ellenwood, Ellen Furey, Émilie Graton, Mathieu Grenier, Leticia Hamaoui, Hanako Hoshimi-Caines, Benoit Jutras, Fanny Latreille, Soleil Launière, Nikki Little, Anna Lupien, Kamissa Ma Koïta, Noémi McComber, Dana Michel, Chloé Ouellet-Payeur, Dominique Pétrin, Simon Portigal, Marie-Pier Proulx, Marie-Ève Quilicot, Dave St-Pierre, Patricia Smart, Andrew Tay, Becca Taylor, France Théoret, Stephen Thompson, Marilou Verschelden

May 16, 2018 - June 16, 2018

Opening: May 15, 2018, 5:30 pm

Curators – visual arts: Doriane Biot, Camille Richard
Curator – live arts: Véronique Hudon

With the participation of Oana Avasilichioaei, Scott Benesiinaabandan, Alix Dufresne, Sarah Chouinard-Poirier, Daria Colonna, Cool Cunts, Pascale Drevillon, Sophie Dubois, toino dumas, Ray Ellenwood, Ellen Furey, Émilie Graton, Mathieu Grenier, Leticia Hamaoui, Hanako Hoshimi-Caines, Benoit Jutras, Alanna Kraaijeveld, Fanny Latreille, Soleil Launière, Niki Little, Anna Lupien, Kamissa Ma Koïta, Noémi McComber, Dana Michel, Chloé Ouellet-Payeur, Dominique Pétrin, Simon Portigal, Marie-Pier Proulx, Marie-Ève Quilicot, Dave St-Pierre, Patricia Smart, Andrew Tay, Becca Taylor, France Théoret, Stephen Thompson, Marilou Verschelden

Starting May 16, Galerie de l’UQAM presents the group exhibition Refus contraire. Conceived in the context of the 70th anniversary of the publication of Refus globalRefus contraire seeks to reactivate the principles of commitment, interdisciplinarity and community that animated the signatories of this striking manifesto. Constantly changing, Refus contraire places great emphasis on performative, collective and political practices. Through an abundant events program, the exhibition is thought of as a space for exchanges, collaborations and dissent, questioning both the boundaries between disciplines and the rules and limits imposed by the gallery space.

The exhibition

In the public imagination, Refus global is associated with revolutions, upheaval, and challenging the status quo. Just as it did 70 years ago, art today must continue to reimagine Québec’s societal stage, even though the set has changed. Cultural oppression has taken on more complex forms, but the reasons to oppose it are ever more pressing. This is why our reimagining of Refus global contains multiple refusals. Refus contraire [Contrary Refusal] is a double negative that invites the public to reconnect with the manifesto’s productive radicalism. Now more than ever, the power of refusal can serve the potential for resistance.

This exhibition shows contemporary artists redefining cultural, identity, and gender representation in various performative, poetic and visual modes. It is a place to take the temperature of our artistic and intellectual communities. Whereas the official story on Refus global has emphasized the Automatistes’ pictorial work, this exhibition will provide a space to converse, occupy, and act in ways closer to the original artists’ intentions. Refus contraire reveals the unseen story of the manifesto: histories of women too often dismissed by critics, and examples of interdisciplinary practices that hold up in the light of an appreciative contemporary rereading.

The works assembled here embody the energy and the struggle for freedom that are at the core of Refus global. The exhibition space will be in a state of flux, echoing an original hope of the manifesto signatories, that the transformative power of art could be activated for collective “better life.” Now, artists are reclaiming this legacy in order to express their own refusal of the status quo, in which our future can be embraced or despaired, but the responsibility for it still shared.

The curators

Doriane Biot is an M.A. candidate in Museology as part of Université du Québec à Montréal and Université de Montréal’s joint program. She holds an M.A. in Visual Culture from the University of Aberdeen (Scotland) and a B.A. in Visual Arts and Animation from École de recherche graphique (Belgium). Straddling theory and practice – animated film, drawing, and documentary –, her interests lie in cultural and gender representations through various mediums, as well as in practices that combine art and politics. Meanwhile, Biot also accumulates various international experiences in festival coordination, animation, and video editing.

Camille Richard is an M.A. candidate in Art History at Université du Québec à Montréal. Throughout her research, she has developed an interest in conceptual, feminist and queer practices that redefine traditional notions in regards to exhibition spaces. Her masters deals with relationships of mutual influence between contemporary artistic practices, museum architecture and institutional functions. Moreover, she is the co-coordinator for Hypothèses, a series of lectures, and will act as coordinator for the 2018 edition of the Symposium international d’art contemporain de Baie-Saint-Paul – L’art et le politique –, directed by Sylvie Lacerte.

Véronique Hudon is a PhD student in Études et pratiques des arts at Université du Québec à Montréal. Her research deals with curating live arts. She is the co-director of Curating Live Arts, a collective publication to be released in fall 2018 (Berghahn Books). Writer-in-residence at Centre de creation O Vertigo (CCOV, 2018), she is involved in the fields of dance and theatre. She is also the co-founder of aparté | arts vivants magazine (UQAM) of which she directed the first three issues, and has regularly been published in various magazines in the arts field.

RADAR

Refus contraire is the inaugural exhibition of RADAR, a new initiative of Galerie de l’UQAM for emerging curators. It allows a group of students from UQAM’s graduate programs in Art History, Museology as well as Visual and Media Arts, selected by a jury, to contribute to the definition, development and organization of an exhibition presented as part of Galerie de l’UQAM’s annual program.

Coordination: Philippe Dumaine
Consulting Committee: Jennifer Carter, Barbara Clausen, Marie-Fei Deguire, Louise Déry, Jean Dubois, Sophie Jodoin

Support provided by

Refus contraire

Commissaires : Doriane Biot, Véronique Hudon, Camille Richard

Artistes : Oana Avasilichioaei, Scott Benesiinaabandan, Karina Champoux, Angie Cheng, Sarah Chouinard-Poirier, Daria Colonna, Cool Cunts, Pascale Drevillon, Sophie Dubois, toino dumas, Ray Ellenwood, Ellen Furey, Émilie Graton, Mathieu Grenier, Leticia Hamaoui, Hanako Hoshimi-Caines, Benoit Jutras, Lara Kramer, Camille Larivée, Fanny Latreille, Nikki Little, Anna Lupien, Kamissa Ma Koïta, Noémi McCromber, Dana Michel, Chloé Ouellet-Payeur, Dominique Pétrin, Simon Portigal, Marie-Pier Proulx, Marie-Ève Quilicot, Dave St-Pierre, Patricia Smart, Andrew Tay, Becca Taylor, France Théoret, Stephen Thompson, Marilou Verschelden

16 mai 2018 - 16 juin 2018

Vernissage : 15 mai 2018, 17 h 30

Commissaires en arts visuels : Doriane Biot, Camille Richard
Commissaire en arts vivants : Véronique Hudon

Avec la participation d’Oana Avasilichioaei, Scott Benesiinaabandan, Karina Champoux, Angie Cheng, Sarah Chouinard-Poirier, Daria Colonna, Cool Cunts, Pascale Drevillon, Sophie Dubois, toino dumas, Ray Ellenwood, Ellen Furey, Émilie Graton, Mathieu Grenier, Leticia Hamaoui, Hanako Hoshimi-Caines, Benoit Jutras, Lara Kramer, Camille Larivée, Fanny Latreille, Nikki Little, Anna Lupien, Kamissa Ma Koïta, Noémi McComber, Dana Michel, Chloé Ouellet-Payeur, Dominique Pétrin, Simon Portigal, Marie-Pier Proulx, Marie-Ève Quilicot, Dave St-Pierre, Patricia Smart, Andrew Tay, Becca Taylor, France Théoret, Stephen Thompson, Marilou Verschelden

La Galerie de l’UQAM accueille, dès le 16 mai 2018, l’exposition collective Refus contraire. Pensée dans le contexte du 70e anniversaire de la publication de Refus global, Refus contraire cherche à réactiver les motifs d’engagement, d’interdisciplinarité et de communauté qui animaient les signataires de ce manifeste si marquant. En constante mutation, Refus contraire fait une grande place aux pratiques performatives, collectives et politiques. Par une abondante programmation évènementielle, l’exposition se veut un espace d’échanges, de collaborations et de contestations, questionnant à la fois les limites entre les disciplines et les cadres imposés par l’espace de la galerie.

L’exposition

Refus global convoque un imaginaire populaire porté par des idées de révolutions, de soulèvements et de contestations. Aujourd’hui, comme il y a 70 ans, il est toujours nécessaire que l’art repense l’espace social québécois. Alors que les mises en scène de la domination culturelle se complexifient, les raisons de s’indigner ne cessent de croitre. C’est pourquoi il importe de mettre cet imaginaire au service de refus multiples. Refus contraire, par sa double négation, en appelle à renouer avec la radicalité dans sa dimension positive, à envisager plus que jamais le refus comme force de résistance.

L’exposition montre l’engagement des artistes actuel.le.s à redéfinir les représentations culturelles, identitaires et de genres  à travers des formes performatives, poétiques et visuelles. Elle est un espace pour prendre le pouls de la vivacité des communautés artistiques et intellectuelles. À l’encontre des récits officiels qui ont célébré les œuvres picturales des automatistes, il s’agit ici de renouer avec l’essence de ce groupement en proposant un lieu d’échanges, d’occupations et d’actions. Refus contraire évoque les contre-histoires du manifeste : celles des femmes souvent évincées de la réception critique, celles d’approches interdisciplinaires dont la richesse esthétique est relue à l’aune des pratiques contemporaines.

Les œuvres réunies incarnent l’énergie et la quête de liberté de Refus global. L’espace de l’exposition, en constant changement, fait écho aux souhaits des signataires pour qui la puissance de transformation de l’art est essentielle au « mieux-être » collectif. Aujourd’hui, les artistes se réapproprient cet héritage pour exprimer leur refus et leur désarroi face à un avenir dont la responsabilité nous incombe.

Les commissaires

Doriane Biot est candidate au programme conjoint de maitrise en muséologie à l’Université du Québec à Montréal et à l’Université de Montréal. Elle détient une maitrise en culture visuelle de l’Université d’Aberdeen (Écosse) et un baccalauréat en arts visuels et cinéma d’animation de l’École de recherche graphique (Belgique). À cheval entre la théorie et la pratique – cinéma d’animation, dessin, documentaire –, elle explore les représentations culturelles et de genre à travers différents médiums, s’intéressant particulièrement aux pratiques mêlant art et politique. En parallèle, elle accumule diverses expériences internationales en coordination et programmation de festivals, en animation ainsi qu’en montage et assistance technique vidéo.

Camille Richard est candidate à la maitrise en histoire de l’art à l’Université du Québec à Montréal. À travers ses recherches elle s’intéresse à un corpus de démarches conceptuelles, féministes et queers qui redéfinissent les notions traditionnelles des espaces d’exposition. Son mémoire porte sur les relations d’influence entre des pratiques artistiques contemporaines, l’architecture muséale et les fonctions institutionnelles. De plus, elle agit en tant que cocoordinatrice pour la série de conférences Hypothèses et comme coordonnatrice pour l’édition 2018 du Symposium international d’art contemporain de Baie-Saint-Paul – L’art et le politique – sous la direction artistique de Sylvie Lacerte.

Véronique Hudon est doctorante en Études et pratiques des arts à l’Université du Québec à Montréal. Ses recherches portent sur le commissariat des arts vivants. Elle codirige l’ouvrage collectif Curating Live Arts à paraitre à l’automne 2018 (Berghahn Books). Auteure en résidence au Centre de création O Vertigo (CCOV, 2018), elle est impliquée dans le milieu de la danse contemporaine et du théâtre. Elle a cofondé la revue aparté | arts vivants (UQAM), dont elle a dirigé les trois premiers numéros, et elle collabore à plusieurs périodiques dans le domaine des arts.

RADAR

Refus contraire est l’exposition inaugurale de RADAR, une nouvelle initiative de la Galerie de l’UQAM destinée à la relève commissariale. Elle permet à un collectif d’étudiant.e.s des programmes de cycles supérieurs en histoire de l’art, muséologie ainsi qu’en arts visuels et médiatiques de l’UQAM, sélectionné.e.s par un jury, de contribuer à la définition, au développement et à l’organisation d’une exposition présentée dans la programmation de la Galerie de l’UQAM.

Coordination : Philippe Dumaine
Comité consultatif : Jennifer Carter, Barbara Clausen, Marie-Fei Deguire, Louise Déry, Jean Dubois, Sophie Jodoin

Partenaires

 

Activités liées

Si le refus avait une forme

15 juin 2018

Au Ginkgo café & bar, 308 rue Ste-Catherine Est
Entrée libre

Invité.e.s : Oana Avasilichioaei, Sarah Chouinard-Poirier, Benoit Jutras, Soleil Launière, France Théoret

Make Banana Cry

2 juin 2018

Galerie de l’UQAM
Entrée libre

Spectacle avec Ellen Furey, Hanako Hoshimi-Caines, Dana Michel, Simon Portigal, Andrew Tay, Stephen Thompson

Nous serons universel.le.s

26 mai 2018

Galerie de l’UQAM
Entrée libre

Suivie d’une discussion avec les performeu.rs.ses
Animation : Camille Richard

Blank Cunts / Quatuor en solos

23 mai 2018

Avec Pascale Drevillon, Angie Cheng, Émilie Graton, Leticia Hamaoui, Chloé Ouellet-Payeur, Marie-Pier Proulx, Marie-Ève Quilicot, Dave St-Pierre, Marilou Verschelden

Horaire des performances :
Mercredi 23 mai 2018, 12 h – 18 h
Jeudi 24 mai 2018, 12 h – 18 h 30
Vendredi 25 mai 2018, 12 h – 18 h
Jeudi 31 mai 2018, 12 h – 16 h
Vendredi 1er juin 2018, 12 h – 18 h

Résistances et présence autochtones

22 mai 2018

Galerie de l’UQAM
En anglais
Entrée libre

Invitées : Nikki Little et Becca Taylor, commissaires de la 4e Biennale d’art contemporain autochtone, et les commissaires de Refus contraire.
Animation : Doriane Biot

Banana Peels (Trying Hard)

18 mai 2018

Avec Ellen Furey, Hanako Hoshimi-Caines, Dana Michel, Simon Portigal, Andrew Tay, Stephen Thompson

Horaire des interventions :
Vendredi 18 mai 2018, 15 h – 17 h
Samedi 19 mai 2018, 15 h – 17 h
Mardi 22 mai 2018, 15 h – 17 h
Mardi 5 juin 2018, 15 h – 17 h

Parcours vidéo