These Rooms of Earth and Stones

Curator: Simone Scholten

Artists: Michel Boulanger, Katja Davar

February 7, 2020 - March 21, 2020

Opening: February 6, 2020, 5:30 pm

As of February, Galerie de l’UQAM will be closely observing the impact of human activity on our environment with These Rooms of Earth and Stones, an exhibition that brings together the work of artists Michel Boulanger (QC) and Katja Davar (DE). Organized by Simone Scholten (DE), the project furthermore serves as a collaborative and cultural exchange between a curator and an artist from Germany and an artist from Québec.

The exhibition

These Rooms of Earth and Stones focuses on the tracks left by human processing of the Earth. In the course of geological history, the landscape has changed greatly due to climatic shifts and its horizontal and vertical geological appearance has altered accordingly. Over the last 200 years, in particular through the industrialization of entire areas and the intensive mining of natural resources like gas, metal ores, oil, water or minerals this process has been accelerated.

Michel Boulanger and Katja Davar have made their shared interest in landscape transformation a central theme in a long-term discussion. Both artists are engaged with the increasing interconnections of human culture, natural environments and technology and this exhibition seeks through many mediums, to show how we are in a dynamic and permanent (re)negotiation with our environment. In a visual-metaphorical reflection, the presented works combine the visible changes of the horizontal landscape profile with an artistic exploration of the subterranean vertical sedimentary layers, in which the alteration of the terrain is the central motif. Juxtaposing soil and subsoil, the artists investigate the question of whether there is something similar to a mirror effect in nature that makes the human (technological) intervention in the landscape visible.

Katja Davar combines content and formal motifs from diverse contexts and eras into complex, poetic works. Her drawings and animations evolve from the taut contrasts of surreal, dreamlike or mythological elements and more sober aspects of scientific drawings and diagrams. She metaphorically drills into the subterranean layers of sediment, which constitute an inexhaustible reservoir of historical knowledge depicting images that implicate possible future developments. In contrast the artistic approach of Michel Boulanger is directed at an expansive and wide distance. He focuses on agricultural and farmed landscape areas which act as a metaphor for the eternal competition between man and nature, technology and environment. In his œuvre, semi-figurative hand drawings are adjacent to monumental, computer-generated vector graphics which serve as sources for 3D animations or voluminous sculptural drawings.

Katja Davar and Michel Boulanger mediate between the evident and the hidden traces of human civilization. Their work stresses the idea of playing with the ambiguity of a double-sided world, between the subsoil and the surface of the Earth.

The artists

Michel Boulanger, born in Montmagny, Québec, is a multidisciplinary artist that lives and works in Montréal. He holds a master’s degree in Visual Arts from Université du Québec à Montréal (1992) and a bachelor’s degree in Visual Arts from Université du Québec à Chicoutimi (1984). Michel Boulanger has participated in several exhibitions in Canada and in countries overseas, such as the United-Kingdom, France, Spain, the United-States and Mexico. In 2004, his work was featured in a solo exhibition at the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal. His works furthermore belong to a number of public and private collections. Founding member of Galerie B-312, he is a professor at the École des arts visuels et médiatiques de l’UQAM where he started Grupmuv, a research-creation laboratory dedicated to drawing and moving images with professors Gisèle Trudel and Thomas Corriveau. michelboulanger.ca

Born in 1968 in London, Katja Davar studied painting at the Central Saint Martins School of Art in London, the Art Academy in Düsseldorf and the Academy of Media Arts in Cologne. Davar’s work focuses on systems and processes. Drawing is the undeniable core of her practice although she regularly expands the field of drawing to other dimensions. Technological, ecological, economic and scientific findings or ideas are often the starting point of Katja Davar’s artistic reflections and these are translated into large-format drawings and meticulously produced animations. Since 2012 she has held a professorship at the University of Applied Sciences in Mainz for experimental drawing. She has exhibited widely in Europe and her works are held in several major collections. Institutional exhibitions include: Kunstverein Heilbronn, Skulpturenmuseum Glaskasten Marl, European Kunsthalle, Bonner Kunstverein, Kunsthalle Düsseldorf, Kunstverein Freiburg and Akademie der Künste in Berlin (DE); Newlyn Art Gallery, Penzance in Cornwall, The Drawing Room in London, Middlesbrough Institute of Modern Art and Bluecoat Gallery in Liverpool (UK); Zendai Museum of Modern Art, Shanghai (CN).
katjadavar.com

The curator

Born in 1969, Simone Scholten is an art historian, art critic and curator based in Essen (DE). Among other things, she has worked for the Art and Exhibition Hall of the Federal Republic of Germany in Bonn, the ifa galleries and the international organization Stichting Germinations Europe, the Museum Kurhaus Kleve, the Municipal Art Gallery in Backnang and the Kunsthalle Gießen. Currently she is a curator at Kunstmuseum Mülheim/Ruhr. She has organized numerous exhibitions for venues in Germany, Belgium and the Netherlands. She was part of the research program Bien fait? Mal fait? Pas fait? Regarding the Artistic Practice at LUCA – School of arts, in Ghent (BE). Furthermore her research interests focus on the interactions between art and science as well as the use of traditional handicraft techniques by contemporary artists and graphic arts. Besides her interest in contemporary art she specializes in late medieval and renaissance art and the history of private devotion. She frequently writes essays pertaining to said topics.

Support

Michel Boulanger would like to thank Grupmuv, a research-creation laboratory dedicated to drawing and moving images, Hexagram UQAM, the Fonds de recherche du Québec – Société et culture (FRQSC) and UQAM’s Programme d’aide financière à la recherche et à la création (PAFARC).

These Rooms of Earth and Stones

Commissaire : Simone Scholten

Artistes : Michel Boulanger, Katja Davar

7 février 2020 - 21 mars 2020

Vernissage : 6 février 2020, 17 h 30

À compter de février prochain, la Galerie de l’UQAM se consacre à l’observation de l’impact de l’activité humaine sur l’environnement avec These Rooms of Earth and Stones, une exposition mettant en relation le travail des artistes Michel Boulanger (QC) et Katja Davar (DE). Mis en œuvre par la commissaire Simone Scholten (DE), ce projet engendre également une rencontre culturelle, où une commissaire et une artiste allemandes ainsi qu’un artiste québécois sont amené·e·s à collaborer.

L’exposition

These Rooms of Earth and Stones s’intéresse aux traces laissées par l’exploitation de la Terre par l’humain. Au cours de l’histoire géologique, le paysage a beaucoup changé en raison des changements climatiques et son apparence géologique horizontale et verticale s’est modifiée en conséquence. Ce processus s’est accéléré durant les 200 dernières années, notamment par le biais de l’industrialisation de zones entières et de l’extraction intensive des ressources naturelles comme le gaz, les minerais, le pétrole, l’eau ou les minéraux.

Katja Davar et Michel Boulanger ont fait de leur intérêt commun pour la transformation du paysage un thème central à leurs échanges. Les deux artistes s’intéressent aux interconnexions croissantes entre la culture humaine, les environnements naturels et la technologie. Cette exposition tente, à travers plusieurs médiums, de démontrer de quelles façons nous sommes en (re)négociation dynamique et constante avec notre environnement. À travers une réflexion visuelle et métaphorique, les œuvres présentées combinent les changements visibles du paysage horizontal à une exploration artistique des couches sédimentaires souterraines verticales dans lesquelles la modification du terrain est le motif central. En juxtaposant le sol et le sous-sol, les artistes s’interrogent sur la présence dans la nature de quelque chose de similaire à un effet miroir qui rendrait visibles les interventions humaines (technologiques) présentes dans le paysage.

Katja Davar combine des contenus ainsi que des motifs formels issus de divers contextes et époques dans des œuvres complexes, poétiques. Ses dessins et animations s’élaborent à partir des contrastes tendus entre des éléments surréels, oniriques ou mythologiques et les aspects plus sobres de dessins et diagrammes scientifiques. Elle fore métaphoriquement dans les couches souterraines des sédiments qui constituent un réservoir inépuisable de savoir historique représentant des images qui contiennent de possibles évolutions futures. En revanche, l’approche artistique de Michel Boulanger est orientée vers une plus large étendue. Il s’intéresse aux paysages agricoles et cultivés qui agissent comme métaphore de l’éternelle compétition entre l’humain et la nature, la technologie et l’environnement. Dans ses œuvres, des dessins semi-figuratifs réalisés à la main cohabitent avec des graphiques vectoriels monumentaux générés par ordinateurs qui servent de base à des animations 3D ou à de volumineux dessins sculpturaux.

Michel Boulanger et Katja Davar agissent en médiateur·trice entre les traces apparentes et cachées de la civilisation humaine. Leurs pratiques jouent avec l’ambigüité d’un monde à double face, entre le sous-sol et la surface de la Terre.

Les artistes

Michel Boulanger, né à Montmagny au Québec, est un artiste multidisciplinaire qui vit et travaille à Montréal. Il détient une maîtrise en arts plastiques de l’Université du Québec à Montréal (1992) et un baccalauréat en arts plastiques de l’Université du Québec à Chicoutimi (1984). Michel Boulanger a participé à de nombreuses expositions au Canada et à l’étranger, notamment au Royaume-Uni, en France, en Espagne, aux États-Unis et au Mexique. En 2004, son travail a fait l’objet d’une exposition solo au Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal. Ses œuvres font partie de nombreuses collections publiques et privées. Membre fondateur de la Galerie B-312, il est professeur à l’École des arts visuels et médiatiques de l’UQAM où il a mis sur pied le Grupmuv, laboratoire de recherche création en dessin et image en mouvement, avec les professeur·e·s Gisèle Trudel et Thomas Corriveau.
michelboulanger.ca

Née à Londres en 1968, Katja Davar a étudié la peinture au Central Saint Martins School of Art à Londres, à la Art Academy à Düsseldorf et à la Academy of Media Arts à Cologne. Le travail de Davar se focalise sur les systèmes et les processus. Le dessin est indéniablement au centre de sa pratique, bien qu’elle explore régulièrement le champ élargi de ce médium. Des trouvailles et des idées technologiques, écologiques, économiques et scientifiques servent souvent de point de départ aux réflexions artistiques de Katja Davar, qui sont ensuite traduites en dessins de grande taille et en animations produites de façon méticuleuse. Depuis 2012, elle occupe un poste de professeure en dessin expérimental à la University of Applied Sciences à Mayence. Elle a amplement exposé en Europe et ses œuvres font partie de plusieurs collections importantes. Ces expositions institutionnelles comprennent : le Kunstverein Heilbronn, le Skulpturenmuseum Glaskasten Marl, l’European Kunsthalle, le Bonner Kunstverein, le Kunsthalle Düsseldorf, le Kunstverein Freiburg et l’Akademie der Künste de Berlin (Allemagne); la Newlyn Art Gallery, le Penzance à Cornwall, The Drawing Room à Londres, le Middlesbrough Institute of Modern Art et la Bluecoat Gallery à Liverpool (Royaume-Uni); le Zendai Museum of Modern Art, Shanghai (Chine).
katjadavar.com 

La commissaire

Née en 1969, Simone Scholten est historienne de l’art, critique d’art et commissaire basée à Essen (Allemange). Parmi d’autres réalisations, elle a travaillé pour le Art and Exhibition Hall of the Federal Republic of Germany à Bonn, les ifa galleries et l’organisation internationale Stitching Germinations Europe, le Museum Kurhaus Kleve, la Municipal Art Gallery à Backnang et le Kunsthalle Gießen. Elle est actuellement commissaire au Kunstmuseum Mülheim/Ruhr. Elle a organisé de nombreuses expositions en Allemagne, en Belgique et aux Pays-Bas. Elle a fait partie du programme de recherche Bien fait? Mal fait? Pas fait? Regarding the Artistic Practice au LUCA – School of arts, à Ghent (Belgique). De plus, ses intérêts de recherche portent sur les interactions entre les artistes et les arts graphiques, ainsi que sur l’utilisation de techniques artisanales traditionnelles par les artistes contemporains et les arts graphiques. Hormis son intérêt pour l’art contemporain, elle se spécialise dans l’art des périodes tardives du Moyen Âge et de la Renaissance ainsi que dans l’histoire de la dévotion privée. Elle rédige fréquemment des essais traitant de ces sujets.

Partenaires

Michel Boulanger tient à remercier le Grupmuv, laboratoire de recherche-création en dessin et image en mouvement, Hexagram UQAM, le Fonds de recherche du Québec – Société et culture (FRQSC) et le Programme d’aide financière à la recherche et à la création (PAFARC) de l’UQAM.

Activités liées

Lancement de la publication L’attente

6 février 2020

Aut·eur·rice·s : Louise Déry, Fabrizio Gallanti, Paul Lafargue
25 $, 113 pages, couverture souple
Textes français et anglais

Galerie de l’UQAM
En français et en anglais
Entrée libre

Parcours vidéo