Videozones

Curators: La Fabrique d'expositions, Boshko Boskovic

Artists: Sophie Bélair Clément, Olivia Boudreau, Robert Boyd, Jacynthe Carrier, Michel de Broin, Pascal Grandmaison, Tatiana Istomina, Elisa Kreisinger, Marc Faletti, Frédéric Lavoie, Marko Markovic, Aude Moreau, Rosemarie Padovano, Celia Rowlson-Hall

RISD Museum, Metcalf Auditorium, Providence

August 9, 2013 - August 9, 2013

The Galerie de l’UQAM is pleased to announce the continuation of the Videozones program tour with its participation in the Rhode Island International Film Festival(RIIFF), an important festival of independent films. For the occasion the collective La Fabrique d’expositions (Julie Bélisle, Louise Déry and Audrey Genois) and New York based curator Boshko Boskovic brought together a selection of video works by 7 Montreal artists and six artists living in Brooklyn.

«The program of video art presented by the Galerie de l’UQAM is a nice echo to the large contingent of Canadian filmmakers in competition. In addition, it was only fitting that a university art gallery like ours would work with the RISD Museum, an institution associated with the Rhode Island Shool of Design», explains Louise Déry, director of the Galerie de l’UQAM.

First introduced in the fall of 2012 as part of Montreal / Brooklyn, Videozones has now been selected in the official out of competition program of the RIIFF. For the seventeenth year, the RIFF strives to discover new voices in independent cinema through a selection of 263 films from around the world. From August 6th to the 11th, festival attendees looking for unique works will flood the city of Providence.

The complete program is available at: www.film-festival.org

Videozones

For this presentation at the Rhode Island International Film Festival, La Fabrique d’expositions and Boshko Boskovic have selected, in their respective cities, the work of artists rooted in their environment. Videozones is a compilation of video works by thirteen artists exploring, each in their own singular way, the formal and narrative dimensions of the moving image. During this screening, the audience will be able to enjoy works by Sophie Bélair Clément, Olivia Boudreau, Robert Boyd, Jacynthe Carrier, Michel de Broin, Pascal Grandmaison, Tatiana Istomina, Elisa Kreisinger & Marc Faletti, Frédéric Lavoie, Marko Markovic, Aude Moreau, Rosemarie Padovano and Celia Rowlson Hall.

Curators

La Fabrique d’expositions is a collective of Montreal based curators interested in carrying out projects in a spirit of collegiality and in partnership with various institutions. It is active sporadically in the context of major cultural events in Canada and abroad, and it develops new initiatives for the dissemination of the most current art forms. The group was founded in 2009. Its members have been working together for several years, focusing on the sharing and exchange of ideas. The group currently consists of three members: Julie Bélisle, Louise Déry and Audrey Genois.

Boshko Boskovic is program director at Residency Unlimited, a New York residency program offered to artists and curators. As a curator, he has organized the Monument-Movement exhibition at the Center for Photography & Moving Image (New York), All in a Day’s Work at Splatterpool Artspace (New York), Not so Distant Memory at the Delaware Center for Contemporary Art and at the National Center for Contemporary Art in St. Petersburg (Russia) and Power of the Brand at the Contemporary Art Museum in Banja Luka (Bosnia and Herzegovina). He also worked at the Felix Gonzalez-Torres Foundation and the Sean Kelly Gallery in New York. He recently presented the exhibition Ellie Krakow – Bring the Lights Into the Shot in New York and is currently working on the exhibition Revisiting the Balkans which is set to tour in Belgrade (Serbia), Prishtina (Kosovo) and Zagreb (Croatia).

Support

Quebec Government Office in Boston
Canada Council for the Arts

Venue

RISD Museum
Metcalf Auditorium
20 N. Main Street
Providence, Rhode Island
United States of America, 02903

Related document

Vidéozones

Commissaires : La Fabrique d'expositions, Boshko Boskovic

Artistes : Sophie Bélair Clément, Olivia Boudreau, Robert Boyd, Jacynthe Carrier, Michel de Broin, Pascal Grandmaison, Tatiana Istomina, Elisa Kreisinger, Marc Faletti, Frédéric Lavoie, Marko Markovic, Aude Moreau, Rosemarie Padovano, Celia Rowlson-Hall

RISD Museum, Metcalf Auditorium, Providence

9 août 2013 - 9 août 2013

La Galerie de l’UQAM est heureuse d’annoncer la poursuite de la tournée du programme Vidéozones avec sa participation au Rhode Island International Film Festival (RIIFF), un important festival de films indépendants. Pour l’occasion le collectif La Fabrique d’expositions (Julie Bélisle, Louise Déry et Audrey Genois) et le commissaire newyorkais Boshko Boskovic ont réuni une sélection d’œuvres vidéographiques rassemblant sept artistes montréalais et six artistes vivant à Brooklyn.

« Le programme de vidéos d’art présenté par la Galerie de l’UQAM constitue un bel écho à l’important contingent de cinéastes canadiens en compétition. De plus, il était de circonstance qu’une galerie universitaire comme la nôtre collabore avec le RISD Museum, une institution muséale associée au Rhode Island Shool of Design », explique Louise Déry, directrice de la Galerie de l’UQAM

D’abord présenté à l’automne 2012 dans le cadre de Montréal/BrooklynVidéozones a maintenant été sélectionné dans la programmation hors compétition du RIIFF. Pour la dix-septième année, le RIFF s’attache à découvrir les nouvelles voix du film indépendant à travers une édition comptant 263 films issus de partout dans le monde. Du 6 au 11 août prochain, la ville de Providence sera envahie par les festivaliers en quête de découvertes uniques.

Vidéozones

Pour la présentation au Rhode Island International Film Festival, La Fabrique d’expositions et Boshko Boskovic ont sélectionné, dans leur ville respective, le travail d’artistes bien ancrés dans leur milieu. Vidéozones est une compilation vidéographique d’œuvres de treize qui explorent de manière singulière les dimensions formelles et narratives de l’image en mouvement. Lors de cette soirée de projection, les spectateurs pourront apprécier le travail de Sophie Bélair Clément, Olivia Boudreau, Robert Boyd, Jacynthe Carrier, Michel de Broin, Pascal Grandmaison, Tatiana Istomina, Elisa Kreisinger & Marc Faletti, Frédéric Lavoie, Marko Markovic, Aude Moreau, Rosemarie Padovano et Celia Rowlson-Hall.  

Commissaires

La Fabrique d’expositions est un collectif de commissaires de Montréal intéressées à réaliser des projets dans un esprit de collégialité et en partenariat avec des diffuseurs variés. Elle agit ponctuellement dans le cadre de grands événements culturels situés au Canada et à l’étranger, de même qu’elle développe de nouvelles initiatives de diffusion des formes artistiques les plus actuelles. Le collectif a vu le jour en 2009. Les membres qui le composent travaillent ensemble depuis plusieurs années, privilégiant la mise en commun et le brassage des idées. Le collectif est formé actuellement de trois commissaires : Julie Bélisle, Louise Déry et Audrey Genois.

Boshko Boskovic est directeur à la programmation de Residency Unlimited, un programme new-yorkais de résidence offert aux artistes et aux commissaires.  En tant que commissaire, il a notamment organisé les expositions Monument-Movement au Center for Photography & Moving Image (New York), All in A Day’s Work à la Galerie Splatterpool (New York), Not so Distant Memory au Delaware Center for Contemporary Art et au National Center for Contemporary Art à St. Petersburg (Russie) et Power of the Brand au Contemporary Art Museum in Banja Luka (Bosnie-Herzégovine). Il a également travaillé à la Felix Gonzalez-Torres Foundation et à la Sean Kelly Gallery à New York. Il présentait récemment l’exposition Ellie Krakow – Bring the Lights Into the Shot à New York et travaille présentement sur l’exposition itinérante Revisiting the Balkans qui circulera à Belgrade (Serbie), à Prishtina (Kosovo) et à Zagreb (Croatie).

Appuis

Délégation du Québec à Boston
Conseil des arts du Canada

Document lié