Paroles d’image : Que savez-vous de moi ?

Artists: Céline Huyghebaert, Sophie Jodoin

Display windows of UQAM’s Judith-Jasmin Pavilion

September 17, 2020 -

Graphic design: China Marsot-Wood

“And there are so many silences to be broken…”
Audre Lorde

Que savez-vous de moi ? is a long sentence written by artists Céline Huyghebaert and Sophie Jodoin and commissioned by Galerie de l’UQAM. Unfolding like the pages of an open book across the six vitrines of the gallery, this open question is fuelled by the angst of those whose voices have been silenced. It spills over into the street and startles, warns, irritates, rectifies, interrogates, and resists definition.

About the artists

Céline Huyghebaert’s artistic practice is centred on books and the printed word in narrative work that occupies the intersection of documentary and fiction. Her interests hone in on the silence and repression that perforate our personal and collective histories.  In 2019, she received the Claudine and Stephen Bronfman Fellowship in Contemporary Art and the Governor General’s Literary Award for Le drap blanc (Le Quartanier).

Sophie Jodoin is increasingly interested in the ways in which language functions vis-à-vis the image, with a particular focus on women’s realities and representations of intimacy, loss, and absence. She explores this subject matter through installation work where drawing, collage, text, photography, found objects and video interplay. In 2017, she was the recipient of both the Prix Louis-Comtois and the Giverny Capital Prize.

Support provided by

Paroles d’image : Que savez-vous de moi ?

Artistes : Céline Huyghebaert, Sophie Jodoin

Vitrines extérieures du pavillon Judith-Jasmin, UQAM

17 septembre 2020 -

Travail graphique : China Marsot-Wood

« Et il y aurait tant de silences à rompre… »
Audre Lorde

Que savez-vous de moi ? est une longue phrase écrite à quatre mains par les artistes Céline Huyghebaert et Sophie Jodoin à la suite d’une invitation de la Galerie de l’UQAM. Déployée à travers les six vitrines extérieures de la galerie, comme les pages d’un livre ouvert, cette adresse collective se nourrit de la colère des voix qui n’acceptent plus d’avoir le souffle court. Elle traverse les murs et les fenêtres pour se répandre dans la rue. Elle apostrophe, elle met en garde, s’irrite, rectifie, questionne, refuse que le regard de l’autre la définisse.

À propos des artistes

Céline Huyghebaert place le texte et le livre au cœur de sa pratique artistique dans des œuvres narratives à la croisée du documentaire et de la fiction. Elle s’intéresse aux silences et aux refoulements qui creusent nos histoires individuelles et collectives. En 2019, elle a obtenu la Bourse Claudine et Stephen Bronfman en art contemporain et le Prix littéraire du Gouverneur général pour Le drap blanc (Le Quartanier).

Portée par un intérêt grandissant pour les articulations du langage dans son rapport à l’image, Sophie Jodoin interroge les manifestations du féminin, de l’intime, de la perte et de l’absence. Son œuvre, hybride, mêle dessin, collage, écriture, objet trouvé, installation et vidéo. Elle a été lauréate du Prix Louis-Comtois et du Prix Giverny Capital en 2017.

Partenaires