Michelle Bui. Pool of Plenty

Graduating master’s student in visual and media arts (MFA), UQAM

Artist: Michelle Bui

January 11, 2018 - March 3, 2018

Opening: January 10, 2018, 5:30 pm

Galerie de l’UQAM presents the exhibition Pool of Plenty by Michelle Bui, graduating master’s student in visual and media arts (MFA) at UQAM. In this solo show, the artist engages with a rediscovery of objects, materials, food items and plants that make our environment. Through a process of selection, assembly, and photographic documentation, Bui reveals the aesthetic qualities of these objects, their fragility and malleability. The result is a reflection on where material culture, advertising, desire and identity intersect.

The Espace magazine staff will be present during the exhibition’s opening to launch its new issue articulated around the theme of Wounds.

The exhibition

Michelle Bui is interested in the tenuous, sometimes fraught, and always symbiotic relationship between culture and commerce. While always apparent in the way we visually experience the world, this relationship most fully inheres in our connection to material culture. The accumulation of items consumed by both society and the individual transmit a tremendous amount of data about our identity. For Bui, our sense of self, our identity-consciousness, is communicated equally by the objects that surround us as by language-based discourses that otherwise might define us. The aesthetic, expressive, and symbolic qualities, as well as the materiality of the objects selected, allow the artist to explore personal themes therein. The various objects that Bui acquires – and sometimes creates – are subjected to presentation and ownership in ways that allow for their construction and arrangement to elicit tensions and overlaps that undermine the status of the object as commodity.

Pool of Plenty is an exhibition that brings together photographic work with which the gallery walls will be plastered. Bui transcends the decorative and ornamental language of advertising in a détournement that makes use of touch and smell to surpass mere visual spectacle. To do so, Bui rearranges objects selected for both their visual and tactile qualities in a presentation of photographic and sculptural elements that seduce the viewer, leading us into a subtle and uncanny sense of displacement. The shift in perception she achieves conveys the artist’s intention to make desire itself material, to bring it into being by and with these objects, to viscerally seduce us and to confront the viewer with surface reality.

The artist

Montréal-born artist Michelle Bui earned her undergraduate degree in painting and drawing at Concordia University before continuing on to do her MFA in visual and media arts at the Université du Québec à Montréal. In 2017, she furthered her exploration of the materiality of photographs at the École nationale supérieure des Beaux-arts in Paris and represented emerging Canadian photographers at the Jeux de la francophonie in Abidjan. She was awarded the François-Xavier Marange grant for printing arts, and is next year’s artist in residence at Atelier Circulaire. The residency will be an opportunity for Bui to develop works at the intersection of sculpture and photography, of which a selection of pieces was included in the Projet Pangée exhibition Rêverie earlier in 2017. Additional works resulting from this exploration will be included in the group exhibition Appareillage at Québec City’s VU PHOTO in February 2018.
michellebui.com

Espace #118 (Winter 2018) – Wounds

Can we heal our wounds? And to do so, must we relegate them to oblivion or consign them to a form of liberating reconciliation? In the field of aesthetic representation, how can an artistic gesture bring relief to the spirit? The texts of this issue, launched during the opening of Maria Hupfield. The One Who Keeps On Giving, elaborate various perspectives on these questions.
espaceartactuel.com

Support provided by

The artist wishes to express special thanks to Atelier Circulaire for their financial support as well as for the technical assistance which have made this exhibition possible.

 

Video tour

Michelle Bui. Pool of Plenty

Finissante de la maitrise en arts visuels et médiatiques, UQAM

Artiste : Michelle Bui

11 janvier 2018 - 3 mars 2018

Vernissage : 10 janvier 2018, 17 h 30

La Galerie de l’UQAM présente l’exposition Pool of Plenty de Michelle Bui, finissante de la maitrise en arts visuels et médiatiques de l’UQAM. L’artiste y propose une redécouverte d’objets, matériaux, aliments et végétaux qui nous entourent. Par un procédé de sélection, d’assemblage puis de capture photographique, Bui dévoile leur fragilité, leur malléabilité et leurs qualités esthétiques. En résulte une réflexion sur les intersections entre culture matérielle, publicité, désir et identité.

L’équipe de la revue Espace sera présente au vernissage pour lancer son nouveau numéro sous la thématique Blessures.

L’exposition

Michelle Bui s’intéresse à la relation ténue, parfois difficile mais toujours symbiotique entre culture et commerce. Désormais omniprésente dans notre expérience visuelle, cette relation s’incarne de manière prépondérante dans notre rapport à la culture matérielle. Les objets accumulés et consommés, tant par un individu que par une société, véhiculent énormément d’informations liées à notre identité. Selon Bui, la conscience identitaire, généralement structurée par le langage, peut également être articulée par ces éléments qui nous entourent. Les qualités esthétiques, expressives et symboliques ainsi que la matérialité des objets choisis permettent à l’artiste d’examiner l’intime. Dans le cadre d’une démarche où elle acquiert, possède, présente et parfois fabrique des objets variés, Michelle Bui entrevoit l’arrangement et la construction de ces marchandises comme manières de provoquer des tensions et des glissements qui transgressent le statut de l’objet.

L’exposition Pool of Plenty rassemble des œuvres photographiques qui tapissent les murs de la galerie telles des affiches publicitaires. Utilisant avec aisance le langage ornemental et décoratif du domaine de la publicité, Michelle Bui surpasse le spectacle visuel et s’engage dans un travail qui aiguise aussi le sens du toucher et de l’odorat. Sélectionnés autant pour leurs qualités visuelles que haptiques, matériaux et objets sont assemblés sous forme photographique et sculpturale de manière à séduire le spectateur, à le transporter vers un lieu légèrement décalé, subtilement pervers. Ce déplacement répond au désir de l’artiste de matérialiser des envies, d’en faire naitre par l’objet, de séduire par le viscéral et de confronter par la surface.

L’artiste

Originaire de Montréal, Michelle Bui est diplômée en peinture et dessin de l’Université Concordia et poursuit une maitrise en arts visuels et médiatiques à l’Université du Québec à Montréal. En 2017, elle a continué ses recherches sur la matérialité de la photographie à l’École nationale supérieure des Beaux-arts de Paris et a représenté la relève canadienne en photographie aux Jeux de la Francophonie à Abidjan. Récipiendaire de la bourse François-Xavier Marange en arts d’impression, Michelle Bui est artiste en résidence à l’Atelier Circulaire pour la prochaine année. Elle y développe un travail au croisement de la sculpture et de la photographie, dont certaines pièces ont été présentées dans Rêverie, une exposition de Projet Pangée (2017). D’autres œuvres issues de cette recherche seront incluses dans l’exposition collective Appareillage chez VU PHOTO en février 2018
michellebui.com

Espace no 118 (hiver 2018) – Blessures

Peut-on guérir de ses blessures? Faut-il, dans ce cas, les rejeter dans l’oubli ou plutôt entretenir avec elles une forme de réconciliation libératrice? Dans le domaine de la représentation esthétique, qu’est-ce que le geste artistique est en mesure d’apporter pour soulager les esprits? Lancé lors du vernissage de l’exposition Maria Hupfield. Celle qui continue de donner, ce numéro élabore diverses perspectives face à ces questions.
espaceartactuel.com

Partenaires

L’artiste souhaite tout particulièrement remercier l’Atelier Circulaire pour son soutien financier ainsi que pour son appui technique qui a permis de mener à cette exposition.

Activités liées

Nuit blanche 2018 à la Galerie de l’UQAM

3 mars 2018

Agora du pavillon Judith-Jasmin et Galerie de l’UQAM
Entrée libre

Invités :
Buffalo Hat Singers, groupe de tambours traditionnel et contemporain de pow-wow
Natasha Kanapé Fontaine, poète, peintre, comédienne, militante en environnement et droits autochtones

Parcours vidéo