Thirteen Black Cats

BNLMTL 2016 – The Grand Balcony

Curator: Philippe Pirotte

Artist: Thirteen Black Cats

October 21, 2016 - December 10, 2016

Opening: October 20, 2016, 5:30 pm

La Biennale de Montréal and the Galerie de l’UQAM are presenting the work New York collective Thirteen Black Cats, as part of BNLMTL 2016 – The Grand Balcony.Thirteen Black Cats will premiere Corpse Cleaner, a short film that addresses the legacy of atomic power in the 20th and 21st centuries.

The 2016 edition of La Biennale de Montréal calls for a materialist and sensualist approach. It recasts the pursuit of sensual pleasures, making a case for its decisive role in everyday life and political decision-making. The Grand Balcony bets on the liberating potential of art and invites us to rethink both the (im)possibility of an emancipation through pleasure – and its urgency.

The exhibition

Corpse Cleaner, the latest film produced by the research and production collective Thirteen Black Cats, focuses on the letters exchanged between Claude Eatherly, the air force pilot whose “all clear” weather report enabled the atomic bombing of Hiroshima, and Günther Anders, the German philosopher, theorist and anti-nuclear activist whose work fixated on technology’s capacity to outpace human intention.

As a voice-over retells the content of the letters, we learn that Hollywood producer Bob Hope approached Eatherly to make a film about his life. Anders actively encouraged Eatherly to refuse the offer. A former movie prop cleaner in the Hollywood Custom Palace, Anders claimed that the Hollywood apparatus would not be able to process this “fatal act”.

BNLMTL 2016 – The Grand Balcony

This edition of La Biennale de Montréal draws loosely on Jean Genet’s Le Balcon, in which the play’s high porch is a space of contestation between revolution and counter-revolution, reality and illusion. As stated by curator Philippe Pirotte, “The Grand Balcony is simultaneously playful and fatalistic in its presentation of rooms, corridors and balconies. Deflecting every attempt to fit in or create an overarching narrative, to be introduced into a system of classification or to be pinned down, the exhibition becomes a place of fallacy, where things can go astray”. The Grand Balcony was conceptualized and curated by Philippe Pirotte in consultation with curatorial advisors Corey McCorkle, Aseman Sabet and Kitty Scott, and in close collaboration with Sylvie Fortin, Executive and Artistic Director of La Biennale de Montréal. bnlmtl.org

The artists

Thirteen Black Cats is a research and production collective based in New York, founded by Lucy Raven, Evan Calder Williams and Vic Brooks. thirteenblackcats.org

Born in Tucson, AZ in 1977, Lucy Raven lives and works in New York. Her work has been shown in exhibitions and screenings internationally, including solo exhibitions at VOX – Centre de l’image contemporaine, Montréal (2015); Curtis R. Priem Experimental Media and Performing Arts Center, Troy, NY (2015); Portikus, Frankfurt (2014); and the Yerba Buena Center for the Arts, San Francisco (2014). Her work has also been featured in group exhibitions at the Hammer Museum, Los Angeles (2013); Whitney Biennial, New York (2012); and the Manchester International Festival, Manchester, England (2011). lucyraven.com

Born in Portland, ME in 1982, Evan Calder Williams is a writer, theorist, and artist who lives and works in Woodstock, NY. He is the author of Combined and Uneven Apocalypse (2011), Roman Letters (2011), as well as two forthcoming books, Shard Cinema and Donkey Time. His writing has appeared in Film QuarterlyThe New InquiryRadical PhilosophyWorld PictureThe Third Rail, and elsewhere. He has presented films, performances, and audio works at the Serpentine Gallery, London (2014); Images Festival, Toronto (2014); Festival du Nouveau Cinéma, Montréal (2014); Artists Space, New York (2013), Tramway, Glasgow (2012); and the Whitney Museum of American Art, New York (2012).

Born in London in 1979, Vic Brooks lives and works in Woodstock, NY. She is a curator and producer at the Curtis R. Priem Experimental Media and Performing Arts Center and Rensselear Polytechnic Institute, Troy, NY. She has worked at LUX, London, co-founded The Island, London and co-curated at the Serpentine Gallery, London.

The curator

Philippe Pirotte (born in Belgium in 1972) is an art historian, curator, critic, and Director of the Staatliche Hochschule für Bildende Künste Städelschule and of Portikus, leading centres for contemporary art in Germany and beyond. Pirotte was one of the co-founders of the contemporary art centre objectif_exhibitions in Antwerp, Belgium. From 2005 to 2011, he was Director of the internationally renowned Kunsthalle Bern in Switzerland where he organized solo exhibitions by artists such as Anne-Mie Van Kerckhoven, Owen Land, Oscar Tuazon, Jutta Koether, Allan Kaprow, and Corey McCorkle. From 2004 to 2013, Pirotte held the position of Senior Advisor at the Rijksakademie for Visual Arts in Amsterdam. In 2012, he became Adjunct Senior Curator at the UC Berkeley Art Museum and Pacific Film Archive. He also served as Advising Program Director for the Sifang Art Museum in Nanjing and is an advisor for the Kadist Art Foundation (Paris/San Francisco).

Public activities

Artists’ Talk – Thirteen Black Cats (in English)
Panel with Luke Willis Thompson, Michael Blum and Nathalie Melikian
October 19, 2016, 3:00 to 4:30 pm
Société des arts technologiques, 1201 Saint-Laurent Boulevard, Montréal
$10 / Free for BNLMTL 2016 Passport holders
Organized by La Biennale de Montréal

Support provided by

Thirteen Black Cats

BNLMTL 2016 – Le Grand Balcon

Commissaire : Philippe Pirotte

Artiste : Thirteen Black Cats

21 octobre 2016 - 10 décembre 2016

Vernissage : 20 octobre 2016, 17 h 30

La Biennale de Montréal et la Galerie de l’UQAM s’associent pour présenter le travail de l’artiste torontois Luis Jacob, de l’Allemande Judith Hopf et du collectif new-yorkais Thirteen Black Cats, dans le cadre de BNLMTL 2016 – Le Grand Balcon. Thirteen Black Cats offrira en grande première Corpse Cleaner, court-métrage qui s’intéresse à l’héritage de la puissance atomique aux 20e et 21e siècles.

L’édition 2016 de La Biennale de Montréal témoigne d’une approche matérialiste et sensualiste, nous invitant à mettre en scène la recherche de plaisirs sensuels – à appeler le plaisir à jouer une fois de plus un rôle déterminant dans la vie quotidienne et la prise de décision politique. Misant sur le potentiel libérateur de l’art, Le Grand Balcon nous pousse à réexaminer l’(im)possibilité d’une émancipation par le plaisir – et son urgence.

Les expositions

Corpse Cleaner, plus récent film du collectif de recherche et de production Thirteen Black Cats, se penche tout particulièrement sur les lettres échangées par Claude Eatherly, pilote de l’armée de l’air dont le rapport météorologique positif a permis le bombardement atomique d’Hiroshima, et Günther Anders, philosophe, théoricien et militant antinucléaire allemand dont l’œuvre traduit une obsession envers la capacité de la technologie à dépasser les intentions humaines. Alors qu’une voix hors champ nous rappelle le contenu des lettres, on apprend que le producteur hollywoodien Bob Hope a abordé Eatherly en vue de faire un film sur sa vie. Ancien nettoyeur d’accessoires cinématographiques au Hollywood Custom Palace, Anders lui confie cependant que l’appareil hollywoodien ne serait pas en mesure de traiter cet « acte fatal ».

BNLMTL 2016 – Le Grand Balcon

Cette édition de La Biennale de Montréal est librement inspirée de la pièce Le Balcon de Jean Genetqui fait de cette plateforme un espace de contestation entre la révolution et la contre-révolution, la réalité et l’illusion. Comme l’affirme le commissaire Philippe Pirotte, « Le Grand Balcon sera à la fois enjoué et fataliste dans sa présentation de pièces, de corridors et de balcons où les choses peuvent – de façon très créative, constructive, jouissive – se mettre à déraper ». Le Grand Balcon est conçu et mis sur pied par le commissaire Philippe Pirotte de concert avec un comité consultatif formé de Corey McCorkle, Aseman Sabet et Kitty Scott, et en étroite collaboration avec Sylvie Fortin, directrice générale et artistique de La Biennale de Montréal.
bnlmtl.org

Les artistes

Fondé par Lucy Raven, Evan Calder Williams et Vic Brooks, Thirteen Black Cats est un collectif de recherche et de production basé à New York.
thirteenblackcats.org

Née à Tucson, Arizona, en 1977, Lucy Raven vit et travaille à New York. Ses œuvres ont été présentées sur la scène internationale dans des expositions et des projections, dont des expositions individuelles à VOX – Centre de l’image contemporaine, à Montréal (2015); au Curtis R. Priem Experimental Media and Performing Arts Center, à Troy, New York (2015); à Portikus, Francfort (2014) ; et au Yerba Buena Center for the Arts, à San Francisco (2014). Ses œuvres ont également été présentées dans des expositions collectives au Hammer Museum, à Los Angeles (2013); à la Biennale du Whitney, à New York (2012); et au Manchester International Festival, à Manchester, R.-U. (2011).
lucyraven.com

Né à Portland, Maine, en 1982, Evan Calder Williams vit et travaille à Woodstock, New York. Il est l’auteur de Combined and Uneven Apocalypse (2011), Roman Letters (2011), et de deux livres qui seront bientôt publiés, Shard Cinema and Donkey Time. Ses textes sont parus dans Film Quarterly, The New Inquiry, Radical Philosophy, World Picture, The Third Rail, et ailleurs. Il a présenté ses films, performances et œuvres audio à la Serpentine Gallery, à Londres (2014); au Images Festival, à Toronto (2014); au Festival du Nouveau Cinéma, à Montréal (2014); à Artists Space, à New York (2013); au Tramway, à Glasgow (2012); et au Whitney Museum of American Art, à New York (2012).

Née à Londres en 1979, Vic Brooks vit et travaille à Woodstock, New York. Elle est conservatrice et productrice au Curtis R. Priem Experimental Media and Performing Arts Center and Rensselear Polytechnic Institute, à Troy, New York. Elle a travaillé à LUX, à Londres, est cofondatrice de The Island, à Londres, et a été co-conservatrice à la Serpentine Gallery, à Londres.

Le commissaire

Philippe Pirotte (né en 1972, en Belgique) est historien de l’art, commissaire, critique et directeur de la Staatliche Hochschule für Bildende Künste Städelschule et de Portikus, des lieux majeurs consacrés à l’art contemporain en Allemagne et au-delà de ses frontières. Il a été l’un des directeurs fondateurs du centre d’art contemporain objectif_exhibitions à Anvers, en Belgique. De 2005 à 2011, il a été directeur de la Kunsthalle Bern, en Suisse, institution de réputation internationale où il a monté des expositions individuelles d’artistes comme Anne-Mie Van Kerckhoven, Owen Land, Oscar Tuazon, Jutta Koether, Allan Kaprow et Corey McCorkle. De 2004 à 2013, il a occupé le poste de conseiller principal de la Rijksakademie pour les arts plastiques à Amsterdam. En 2012, il est devenu conservateur principal adjoint du UC Berkeley Art Museum and Pacific Film Archive. Il a également agi comme conseiller à la direction de programmes du Sifang Art Museum à Nanjing et il est conseiller à la Kadist Art Foundation (Paris/San Francisco).

Partenaires