Leyla Majeri. Don’t Blame Us If We Get Playful

Graduating master’s student in visual and media arts (MFA), UQAM

Artist: Leyla Majeri

March 10, 2018 - April 14, 2018

Opening: March 10, 2018, 3:00 pm

Galerie de l’UQAM shows the exhibition Leyla Majeri. Don’t Blame Us If We Get Playful. Currently completing a master in visual and media arts (MFA) at UQAM, the artist presents a material exploration of the shifting boundaries between nature and culture. Inspired by the work of the gardener, Majeri’s installation reflects on the notion of reciprocity in our relationship to the things and environments that surround us.

The exhibition

A gardener might work by digging through and tending to material stuff, figuring out what it needs to grow and flourish, what sort of relationships need to be forged to create a life, what needs to die. While the studio artist approaches the physical world in a very different way, the relationship with materials remains one of reciprocity, a shifting balance where mastery is gained and lost, where the unexpected springs up. In art, as in gardening, the distinction between the act of cultivating and the object cultivated fades as we try to harness the spirit of that which eludes and surprises us. The artist draws on the practice of gardening to develop a sculptural approach that probes the various materialities, notions and apories emerging at the intersection of art and gardening, thus offering an unusual look at the ambivalent relationship between nature and culture.

Inside the gallery space, art and gardening blur, each practice arriving from a different plane and scale, meeting at ground level to (re)negotiate the limits of matter. Paper, cardboard, plaster and various refuse are sculpted and arranged, not to imitate a garden, but to explore its porous limits. Guided by this eclectic and speculative approach, Majeri draws attention to the intersections of the imaginary, nature and politics, tracing their connections along the way.

The artist

Leyla Majeri’s practice focuses on sculptural installation and film animation, bringing them into relationship with broader themes concerning the ecology of the material, the immaterial and the imagined. Her work has recently been shown at Parisian Laundry (Montréal, 2016); Sounds Like, PAVED Arts (Saskatoon, 2016); Eastern Bloc (Montréal, 2016); and the Festival du nouveau cinéma (Montréal, 2015). She was the recipient of a project grant from the Canada Council for the Arts (2016) and a Grupmuv research grant (UQAM, 2015). In the spring of 2017, Leyla completed a residency at Est-Nord-Est artists’ centre (Saint-Jean-Port-Joli) to research plastic materials and residue. Her first solo exhibition, Harness the Sun (Arprim, Montréal, 2016), began a reflection on the garden, which she now continues at Galerie de l’UQAM. Leyla Majeri is currently completing a master of visual and media arts (MFA) at UQAM.
leylamajeri.blogspot.ca

Support provided by

Related document

Video tour

Leyla Majeri. Don’t Blame Us If We Get Playful

Finissante de la maitrise en arts visuels et médiatiques, UQAM

Artiste : Leyla Majeri

10 mars 2018 - 14 avril 2018

Vernissage : 10 mars 2018, 15 h 00

La Galerie de l’UQAM accueille l’exposition Leyla Majeri. Don’t Blame Us If We Get Playful. L’artiste, finissante de la maitrise en arts visuels et médiatiques de l’UQAM, y propose une exploration matérielle des frontières mouvantes entre nature et culture. S’inspirant de son expérience de jardinière, Majeri offre une installation qui questionne la notion de réciprocité dans notre rapport aux choses et environnements qui nous entourent.

L’exposition

Le travail de la jardinière consiste à creuser et à entretenir plusieurs aspects de la matière, en tenant compte des besoins de celle-ci pour croitre, des types de relations bénéfiques à la vie et du rôle que la mort doit parfois y jouer. Bien que la pratique de l’artiste en atelier s’engage quant à elle dans une tout autre relation avec la matière, un rapport de réciprocité subsiste, menant parfois à une perte de maitrise et par conséquent à des résultats imprévisibles. Dans l’activité artistique tout comme dans celle du jardinage, la distinction entre le geste de cultiver et l’objet cultivé s’estompe à mesure que l’on s’attarde à saisir l’esprit d’une chose qui nous échappe et nous surprend. En prenant appui sur la pratique du jardin, Leyla Majeri élabore une approche sculpturale pour sonder les diverses matérialités, notions et apories qui émergent d’un tel croisement, offrant ainsi un regard inusité sur la relation ambivalente entre nature et culture.

Se déployant au sol, l’exposition Don’t Blame Us If We Get Playful propose un environnement dans lequel se brouillent deux pratiques qui, de manières distinctes et à différentes échelles, (re)négocient les limites de la matière. Papier, carton, plâtre et divers rebus y sont manipulés et mis en scène non pas pour prétendre à un jardin, mais bien pour en explorer les limites poreuses. Guidée par cette approche plurielle et spéculative, Leyla Majeri s’attarde aux intersections de l’imaginaire, de la nature et du politique, traçant en chemin leurs liens écologiques.

L’artiste

Leyla Majeri se concentre sur l’installation sculpturale et l’animation cinématographique qu’elle met en relation avec des préoccupations plus vastes portées sur l’écologie entre les choses matérielles, immatérielles et imaginées. Récemment, on a pu voir ses œuvres à la Parisian Laundry (Montréal, 2016), à Sounds Like, Paved Arts (Saskatoon, 2016), au Eastern Bloc (Montréal, 2016) et au Festival du nouveau cinéma (Montréal, 2015). Elle est récipiendaire d’une bourse de projet du Conseil des arts du Canada (2016) et d’une bourse de recherche du Grupmuv (UQAM, 2015). Au printemps 2017, elle effectue une résidence au centre d’artistes Est-Nord-Est (Saint-Jean-Port-Joli) pour mener une recherche sur la matière plastique et ses résidus. Sa première exposition solo, Harness the Sun (Arprim, Montréal, 2016), entamait une réflexion sur le jardin qui se poursuit à la Galerie de l’UQAM. Leyla Majeri complète actuellement une maitrise en arts visuels et médiatiques à l’UQAM.
leylamajeri.blogspot.ca

Partenaires

Activité liée

Parcours vidéo