Rémi Belliveau. Hier semble si loin / Chapitre 4 / Jean Dularge

Graduating Master’s student in visual and media arts (MFA), UQAM

Artist: Rémi Belliveau

September 18, 2020 - November 21, 2020

EXHIBITION SUSPENDED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE

***

Visitors are invited to bring their own headphones to experience the exhibition’s audio components.

Galerie de l’UQAM is back at last with its on-site exhibitions. As of September, the public will be invited to discover the work of Rémi Belliveau, graduating Master’s student in visual and media arts, who will present an experimental performance exploring the history of rock ‘n roll in New Brunswick Acadian culture.

The exhibition

In April, 1967, Acadian singer-songwriter Jean Dularge did not record his 45 single “Viens voir l’Acadie”.  He was not the first artist signed by Les Disques Acadisco (label), nor was he required to cancel the release of his song due to a supposed copyright dispute.

Hier semble si loin / Chapitre 4 / Jean Dularge is an experimental historiographic project by Acadian artist Rémi Belliveau, wherein a historic fiction is performed and inserted into the fragmented and little-known history of rock ‘n roll in New Brunswick’s Acadian communities. Based on years of research and artefact acquisition, the artist weaves a story1 that seeks to validate the hybrid, ever-changing nature of Acadianess, while actively eschewing identification with either of the region’s dominant musical tropes, i.e. the anglo-Maritimer or franco-Québécois musical cultures.

__________________________

1 This story unfolds over five chapters: Chapter 1. When the sun says hello to the mountains of Kent County: the old-timey music of The Bunkhouse Boys & Shirley; Chapter 2. Teenage Time with Cliffy Short, Jerry Banks and Ted Daigle: Acadian youth in the age of Elvis Presley; Chapter 3. “She loves you, yé, yé, yé”: The Swinging Sixties en français (s’il vous plait); Chapter 4. Jean Dularge; and Chapter 5. Facing the Day: The far away promis of hard rock.

The artist

Rémi Belliveau is an Acadian interdisciplinary artist and musician hailing from Memramcook, New Brunswick, a village located in Mi’kma’ki, the traditional unceded territory of the Mi’kmaq people. Since 2012, his work has been exhibited in galleries throughout the Maritimes, namely the Galerie d’art Louise-et-Reuben-Cohen (NB), the Beaverbrook Art Gallery (NB), the Confederation Centre Art Gallery (PEI), and the St. Mary’s University Art Gallery (NS). He was co-director of Moncton’s Galerie Sans Nom from 2014 to 2018, has taught as a sessional at the Université de Moncton, and has published in Canadian Art magazine. He currently lives and works on the Kanien’kehá:ka territory of Tiohtià:ke/Mooniyang,  commonly referred to as Montréal.
remibelliveau.com

 

Video tour

Rémi Belliveau. Hier semble si loin / Chapitre 4 / Jean Dularge

Finissant de la maitrise en arts visuels et médiatiques, UQAM

Artiste : Rémi Belliveau

18 septembre 2020 - 21 novembre 2020

RÉSERVATIONS OBLIGATOIRES
Sans frais
Les visiteurs·euses sont invité·e·s à amener leurs propres écouteurs afin de pouvoir faire l’expérience des dispositifs sonores.

La Galerie de l’UQAM reprend enfin ses expositions en salle. Dès la rentrée, le public pourra découvrir le travail de Rémi Belliveau, finissant de la maitrise en arts visuels et médiatiques de l’UQAM, qui explore l’histoire du rock dans les communautés acadiennes du Nouveau-Brunswick par l’entremise d’une fiction historique performée.

L’exposition

En avril 1967, le chansonnier acadien Jean Dularge n’a pas enregistré un 45 tours de sa chanson Viens voir l’Acadie. Il n’a pas non plus été le premier artiste à être représenté par les Disques Acadisco, et il n’a pas été dans l’obligation de retirer son disque du marché suite à une dispute avec un détenteur de licence.

Hier semble si loin / Chapitre 4 / Jean Dularge est un projet d’historiographie expérimentale de l’artiste acadien Rémi Belliveau, dans lequel une fiction historique est performée et insérée dans l’histoire fragmentaire et peu connue du rock dans les communautés acadiennes du Nouveau-Brunswick. Ancré dans plusieurs années de recherches et de collecte d’artéfacts, le récit qui en émerge1 cherche à valider la nature hybride et mouvante de l’acadienneté en revendiquant son droit à ne pas s’identifier avec ni l’une ni l’autre des cultures musicales dominantes de l’Est du Canada, soit anglo-maritimer ou franco-québécoise.

__________________________

1 Ce récit se déploie en cinq chapitres, soit Chapitre 1. Quand le soleil dit bonjour aux montagnes du comté de Kent : La musique old-timey des Bunkhouse Boys & Shirley; Chapitre 2. Teenage Time with Cliffy Short, Jerry Banks and Ted Daigle : La jeunesse acadienne à l’ère d’Elvis Presley; Chapitre 3. « She loves you, yé, yé, yé » : Les Swinging Sixties en français (s’il vous plait); Chapitre 4. Jean Dularge; et Chapitre 5. Facing the Day : La promesse du hard rock.

L’artiste

Rémi Belliveau est un artiste interdisciplinaire et un musicien acadien originaire de la Vallée de Memramcook (N.-B.), village situé sur le Mi’kma’ki, territoire traditionnel non cédé du peuple Mi’kmaq. Depuis 2012, son travail a été présenté dans plusieurs galeries des Maritimes, notamment la Galerie d’art Louise-et-Reuben-Cohen (N.-B.), la Galerie d’art Beaverbrook (N.-B.), la Galerie du Centre des arts de la Confédération (I.-P.-É.) et la Galerie d’art de l’Université Saint Mary’s (N.-É.). Il a également codirigé la Galerie Sans Nom (Moncton) entre 2014 et 2018, été chargé de cours à l’Université de Moncton et publié dans la revue Canadian Art. Il vit et travaille actuellement sur le territoire Kanien’kehá:ka de Tiohtià:ke/Mooniyang, aussi connu sous le nom de Montréal.
remibelliveau.com